Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon rolls. No other words are needed.

Ingredients (Bread):

1.5 tsp yeast

1C warm milk (Not hot. Warm)

1/2C white sugar

1/3C butter, cubed, room temp

0.5 tsp salt

2 large eggs, room temp

4C all-purpose white flour (if you have bread flour, that’s even better)

Ingredients (Cinnamon filling):

1C brown sugar

1.5 Tbsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1/3C butter, room temp

  1. Turn on the breadmaking machine. I make the dough with a breadmaking machine, because I like my arms and I don’t like them falling off my body. I speak from experience because I have made the dough before by kneading entirely with my hands. If you don’t have a breadmaker…just go buy cinnamon rolls from a good bakery.
  2. Put all the liquids in the bread maker (warm milk and eggs), then pour half of the flour on top. Put the salt in, and pour the rest of the flour on top. I’m burying the salt under a layer of flour because salt kills yeast. I put the cubed butter to one side on top of all the flour, and the sugar and yeast I put together on the other side. Sugar and yeast are best friends. Sugar is food for yeast.
  3. Set the breadmaker onto the “dough” setting and let it do all the hard work. See the size of the dough after the first 20 minutes, and remember the image of the dough in your head. You will take it out of the breadmaker when it rises to at least the double the size you saw.
  4.  When the dough has doubled from its original dough size (for me, it took 2 hours from when the machine started to operate), turn the oven on to 375F, as it will take time to preheat.
  5. Wash your hands, because we’ll start working with them. Take the dough out of the breadmaker onto a clean, floured work surface and the real fun begins.20170128_125421.jpg
  6. Knead and take all the air out. Add a bit more flour if the dough is too runny. I asked a family member to take this photo, and of course, he took it at an angle where my arm covers most of the dough… But yes, knead the dough. If you don’t know how to knead, there are tons of videos on YouTube featuring actual professional bakers. I’m wondering if anyone is even reading this, since there are trained chefs and bakers with videos on how to make everything, including cinnamon rolls. I tell myself that this is for my self-fulfillment and timeless recipe compilation, and move on from this mini-existential crisis.20170128_125534.jpg
  7. Shape into a ball and cover with plastic food cover or clean wet cloth to prevent drying. Let the dough rest 15 minutes. It will need to relax before you can shape it easily.
  8. After it’s done resting, pick up the ball and evenly flour the work surface. Put the ball back and start flattening the ball with your hands, stretching it out. Use the rolling pin to spread the dough evenly into a big rectangle.20170128_131746.jpg
  9. Mix up the cinnamon filling mixture in a bowl with a spoon. Spoon the paste and spread onto the dough. K, I know what this looks like, but don’t say it. I already know. Yes, it looks like smeared, um, something.20170128_132156.jpg
  10. Roll like sushi and cut into, well, rolls. Spread the rolls on a good-quality baking pan. I really don’t care what they look like, because it’s going to taste amazing no matter what. I cut mine all rustic and weird because I’m not a trained chef (sound familiar? heh???) or baker, and I’m ok with that.20170128_132845.jpg
  11.  Bake for 20 minutes. Check, and bake longer, if needed. I usually turn the tray around in the oven at the 15th minute mark for a more even bake on all sides. I take mine out when the rolls all look golden.
  12. I let it cool a bit in the pan, and take it out roll by roll. Here is one on a plate.20170128_141002.jpg
  13. It tastes like a chewy cloud. Sweet, chewy cloud that melts in your mouth. Here’s a picture to try and show you the wonderful texture.20170128_141907.jpg
  14. I was really happy so I started making a latte, even though I can’t even drink coffee. It just seemed like the right thing to do at the time. I got a family member to volunteer to drink it.20170128_140335.jpg20170128_140342.jpg20170128_140519.jpg

Ah, such a neighborhood bakery cafe moment, in the comfort of my own home. The cinnamon rolls tasted better than any cinnamon roll I had from any bakery.20170128_140846.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

